JEAN-MICHEL JARRE THROWS NEXT CONCERT OVER TO GLOBAL VR COMMUNITY

WATCHING THE WATCHERS
INNOVATIVE PARTNERSHIP WITH TheWaveVR ENABLES FANS TO HOST VIRTUAL REALITY CONCERTS SHOWCASING NEW ALBUM ‘EQUINOXE INFINITY’ OUT NOW ON ASTRALWERKS  
 
  • VR artist SUTU to host live show on
    TheWaveVR followed by Q&A with Jean-Michel Jarre December 12
  • SUTU’s debut show to premiere on December 8 
In the latest in a run of ambitious technological projects, acclaimed electronic music pioneer JEAN-MICHEL JARRE has partnered with leading social VR platform TheWaveVR to allow fans to host concerts for his new album in immersive virtual reality.
Long famed for his spectacular live shows, JARRE‘s latest move throws down the gauntlet to fans, giving them the ability to recreate the magic in their own living rooms. The partnership will give TheWaveVR‘s global community access to his new album EQUINOXE INFINITY. Users will have the unique opportunity to remix tracks using the in-app virtual decks and host listening parties for other users to attend.
Additionally, famed comic book illustrator and digital artist Sutu has createdbespoke 3D artwork inspired by EQUINOXE INFINITY for the partnership. Users will be able to incorporate these images, featuring the iconic ‘Watchers’ into their live shows in order to create reality bending, audio reactive environments.
Jarre will be hosting a one-off Q&A in TheWave on December 12 at 3pm GMT/4pm CET/7am PT. This will be preceded by a special live show hosted by Sutu at 2pm GMT/3pm CET/6am PT to showcase the spectacularEquinoxe Infinity visuals – Sutu’s first ever live VR show in collaboration with an artist. Sutu’s live show will premiere on December 9 at 3am GMT/4am CET/December 8 at 7pm PT.
Virtual reality is part of the next frontier of music” JEAN-MICHEL JARREcommented, “the ‘Equinoxe Infinity’ album considers where we are going as a society, including the ways artificial intelligence and machine learning may impact us. I’ve always been passionate about the potential of music to merge with future technologies. When I experienced TheWaveVR, I loved that spatial art – one of the specialities of my live shows – isn’t limited to scale or real-life constraints. Creators can host the concert of their imagination. This is where Equinoxe Infinity belongs.
Commenting on the partnership, TheWaveVR CEO Adam Arrigo said: “Visit TheWaveVR offices and you’ll see the book ‘Push Turn Move: Interface Design in Electronic Music’ proudly on display. Jean-Michel wrote the foreword to that book, and we feel like we’re kindred spirits with his music interests and passions. When we met with Jean-Michel we realized he had an instant understanding of the important role that immersive, visual experiences like ours have to play in the future of music. It’s a huge honour to bring his music to TheWaveVR community.”
The ‘Equinoxe Infinity’ VR shows will be available to any HTC Vive orOculus Rift VR headset owner through TheWaveVR‘s free app, on Steam and Oculus Home. Featured concerts may also be broadcast on JEAN MICHEL JARRE‘s social channels.
Advertising

empireXstream fb header

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s