Music News

Experimental Audio & Visual producer Bastian Benjamin shares latest single ‘Threshold’

Bastian Benjamin - Threshold on Traxsource

Innovative producer Bastian Benjamin has shared his latest single, ‘Threshold’ to be released on the 13th of November. The single is the fourth to be released from his upcoming album, Two Truths which will be available on 4th of December via Passage. The album was mastered by Shawn Hatfield of Audible Oddities (TOKiMONSTA, Amon Tobin, Machinedrum) and has already seen support from the tastemaker publications, COMPLEX, CLASH Magazine and TRAX Magazine. Bastian Benjamin is known for his live performances, having appeared at Eurosonic Noorderslag in 2018, Valkhof Festival and Popronde in 2019. The musician self-directs all of his music videos, including the video for his previous single, ‘Concrete’ which is also taken from his upcoming album.



LABEL: Passage

Listen/ Share: Bastian Benjamin – Threshold

Pre-save ‘Threshold’

Born and based in Deventer, Netherlands, the artist frequently finds inspiration from walking through the local woods. Bastian Benjamin had a music-infused childhood, with his father’s studio in his backyard becoming a centre-piece, the musician composed his first piece of work at the tender age of 8. Releasing his debut single, ‘Come Close’ at 18, Bastian Benjamin’s sound has matured quickly over the years and recently the producer had found himself working alongside motion artist Ibrah Silas Jackson, German dancer Hannah Mahler and music producer and VJ Absent Chronicles.

More traditionally, the experimental musician finds inspiration from a variety of artists including Clark, Lusine, Lorn, Forest Swords, Skee Mask, DjRum. His own sound sits in closer comparison to the likes of Lorn, Trentemøller and Arca.

The final release before the upcoming album, ‘Threshold’ dances on a balance of bold and sophisticated. Light and feminine electronic adornments are interspersed with confident, masculine basslines as Bastian Benjamin takes his listeners further on a journey of introspection and development. This is the threshold of the inner abys, with the dark waters below calling your name and the urge to jump deep within your soul. Dare to take the leap. 

Bastian Benjamin tells us about the concept behind the single:  “The moment when the end is in sight, and you can already touch the light. Is the moment where one final sprint is going to occur. And you will have to do it all yourself.

Two Truths Album Tracklisting

  1. Edge
  2. Creep
  3. 2D
  4. Unsure
  5. Exploration
  6. Confrontation
  7. Empty
  8. Concrete
  9. I Have Feelings Too
  10. Mantra
  11. Threshold
  12. Migration

Follow Bastian Benjamin: