Slovo remixes ISQ’s ‘Run To You’

Alt-jazz band ISQ are releasing the remix by South London based collective Slovo (founded by Dave Randall, who is the former lead guitarist of Faithless) for their single ‘Run To You’ on the 7th of May. The remix is taken from their upcoming 4th full-length album, Requiem For the Faithful 2.0: The Remixes, which will be released on the 21st of May via CP Records. Slovo’s founding member, Dave Randall has also worked on Grammy award-winning records by Dido and with Sinead O’Connor as well as Emiliana Torrini. Together, Slovo has shared a stage with Lamb and Damien Prince and have been featured by top-end publications such as the BBC and The Guardian

LISTEN: ISQ – ‘Run To You (Slovo Remix)’

Stream / Download ‘Run To You (Slovo Remix)’

Pre-save Requiem For the Faithful 2.0: The Remixes Album

ISQ features Irene Serra (vocals), Richard Sadler (double bass), Naadia Sheriff (piano), and Chris Nickolls (drums). Irene Serra was born in Milan, grew up in Denmark before moving to London to study music where she’s currently based with the rest of the band. The quartet has performed at the London Jazz Festival (2015, 2016, and 2018) before they went on to host several other sold-out shows and has received support from the likes of Time Out London’s Critics Choice, Magnetic Magazine, CLASH Magazine, Electronic Groove, Madorasindahouse, Ondarock as well as BBC Radio Devon’s David Fitzgerald, Jumoke Fashola’s Inspirit show, BBC London Live, and Jazz FM, to name a few. 

With a slow, dramatic opening, the remix for ‘Run To You’ quickly works its way into your heart, as it playfully distorts Irene’s voice while leaving the deep passion untouched. However, the song transforms in the second part, picking up the beat and delving into the world of entrancing club mixes and an unstoppable dancefloor of rhythm, paying tribute to the underworld of the night. The remix of ‘Run To You’ calls to mind a unique combination of Robert Miles, Faithless and Röyksopp. 

Dave Randall tells us his thoughts on the remix: “The album version of ‘Run To You’ is short and playful, but I could hear a bittersweet quality in Irene’s voice and lyric that intrigued me – that feeling of longing the Brazilians might call ‘saudade’. That was my starting point. The ‘muso’ in me also thought it would be fun to take a phrase in 7/8 and mix it with a dance groove. Hopefully, I’ve highlighted the “saudade”…”

Requiem For the Faithful 2.0: The Remixes

01. We All Bleed (Wolf & I Remix)

02. Ode To Myself (Arthur Baker Remix) 

03. In My Bed (Dave Gale Remix)

04. Stone (Kmodo Remix)

05. At The Seams (Emmanuelle Remix) 

06. Panic Room (Bruce James Remix) 

07. L.A.S. (Urchin Remix)

08. Orbit (Richard Sadler Remix)

09. Paper Doll (Remo Remix)

10. Little Girl (Dave Gale Remix) 

11. Run To You (Slovo Remix)

12. Loving A Stranger (Vince Pope Remix)

13. Where Beauty Lives (Naadia Sheriff Remix) 

14. Lost Where We Belong (Bruce James Remix)

Follow ISQ:


Follow Slovo: