Music News

Anabel Englund Drops Debut Album ‘Messing With Magic’ Out Now via AREA10/Ultra Records

Amid the COVID pandemic, the stay-at-home music landscape has welcomed several incredible bodies of work from female artists from future retro opuses like Dua Lipa’s Future Nostalgia and Lady Gaga’s Chromatica to Miley Cyrus’ dance/rock homage Plastic Hearts. Coming in strong in the dance music space is Anabel Englund who today (December 11) releases her debut album Messing With Magic on AREA10/Ultra Records.

Messing With Magic Track List 

1) So Hot (MK x Nightlapse Remix)

2) Float

3) Picture Us

4) Spell My Name (Produced by Amtrac)

5) Underwater (Anabel Englund x MK)

6) Warm Disco (Anabel Englund x Lee Foss)

7) Messing with Magic (Anabel Englund x Jamie Jones)

8) See The Sky

9) So Hot 

10) Burn It

Stream Messing With Magic now here:

Watch the “Burn It” visualizer now here:

Connection is a staple in Anabel’s songwriting. Messing With Magic is a stunning 10-track collection of vibrant, emotion-tinged songs including a string of collaborations with some of the most revered artists in dance music. Things kick off with MK and Nightlapse’s remix of “So Hot,” a killer club rework that has racked up nine million Spotify streams and landed Anabel the first of her two #1 dance music radio chart toppers this year.  Album cut “Picture Us” landed her at the top for the second time on national dance music radio in addition to her first #1 on the Billboard Mix Show chart.

House icon MK reappears later in the record on “Underwater,” a slick, synth-driven cut that sees Englund’s delicate vocals take center stage. Hot Natured tastemakers Lee Foss and Jamie Jones both also make an appearance, lending their midas touches to the infectious bassline of “Warm Disco” and silky house vibes of “Messing With Magic” respectively.

Further highlights come in the form of album closer and forthcoming single “Burn It,” a poignant, piano-led ballad that sees Englund depart from her trademark electronic sound, and new releases “Float,” a similarly affecting house cut, and sparse, bass-heavy “Spell My Name.”

A multi-talented singer-songwriter who has worked with some of the most respected DJs and producers in dance music, Anabel Englund garnered widespread acclaim when she linked up with Jamie Jones and Lee Foss in 2012 to form Hot Natured. Their single “Reverse Skydiving” has amassed over 15.2 million streams on Spotify alone, immediately asserting Englund’s status as a force to be reckoned with. More recently she released tracks with the likes of Disciples, Dirty South, TCTS, Detlef, and Mike Mago.

To find out more about Anabel Englund, go to:

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Soundcloud