Billy Lockett Announces Debut Album Abington Grove Out February 17th | New Single “Freaking Out”

British singer/songwriter Billy Lockett has announced his new single “Freaking Out,” from his forthcoming debut album Abington Grove, out February 17th, 2023 via Photo Finish Records. Listen to the track here, and pre-order the album here.

Following the previous releases of “Not Okay” and “Hard Act To Follow,” third single “Freaking Out” is a divine cocoon of anxieties that releases itself in the form of electro-pop blasts and head-nodding grooves. Locked in with emotive lyricism from the singer/songwriter, the track puts a whole new spin on break up records. 

With this also comes the accompaniment of Billy’s new music video, a depiction of how his emotions have taken over his every-day movements where he can be seen transforming everyone he passes into zombie-like beings, representing how his obsessive thoughts and emotions have taken complete control of his state of mind. Watch the video here.

When talking about the track and the upcoming album, Billy says, “I remember the eureka moment when we wrote the chorus of this song. It felt good but I just wanted to do something unexpected, something that made people go “Woah”. The lyrics are all about when I was on tour for a long time and my relationships at home were falling apart. It is about the struggles of trying to be in two places at the same time and how sometimes it ends up making you feel like you’re at neither. This song is also the only one on the album that Lost boy produced. I love how punchy and hooky the whole song is from pretty much the first second.” 

‘Freaking Out’ is taken from Billy’s forthcoming album ‘Abington Grove’, named after the street of his dad’s house where he grew up. Speaking further about the album Billy says “This is my first ever studio album. You only get to say that once in your life, so I felt ten years was enough time to get it right. 

Every song is a different piece of my life, whether that’s involving love, addiction, self doubt, euphoria…building this body of work has been my therapy, and I can honestly say I’ve never been more proud of anything. 

Art is all about evolving, so after being known mainly for my ballads in the past, this has been a great chance for me to explore so many sides to myself and how that manifests in sound. 

Abington Grove was the street name of my dad’s house that I grew up in, with him. He died when I was 22, which was a tough age to lose him. I’ve spent pretty much the whole time since then in the cellar of his old house writing this album, so it felt like it couldn’t possibly be called anything else.”

Having supported the likes of Lana Del Ray, Lewis Capaldi, Birdy and KT Tunstall, Billy Lockett has rubbed shoulders with the stars and has amassed over 110 million collective streams and tens of thousands of fans across the globe for his powerful and emotive songwriting spanning a myriad of genres.

Billy, who has been cited as “The English Lewis Capaldi,” takes everything he’s seen, heard, experienced, and felt and renders his life as songs you can sing aloud with friends or find solace in when you’re alone. Coming from a background of struggling with alcohol and drug addiction, Billy’s journey continues in a new direction for the future, embracing sobriety for the first time.


Photo Finish Records is an independent record label boasting a diverse artist roster including alternative rock, indie pop and hip hop. The label was created and founded by Matt Galle and in 2021 celebrated its fifteenth year of success. As the label grew and developed, Matt brought in his business partner Mike Marquis to co-run the label with him. PFR is known for developing and breaking an eclectic roster of artists such as 3OH!3, SHAED, Marian Hill, MisterWives, ROZES, The Mowgli’s, and new signings The Maine, 93FEETOFSMOKE, Elliot Lee, AVIV, and joan. SHAED’s track “Trampoline” is triple platinum in the US with over 2 billion streams worldwide, 3OH!3’s debut album “Want” is certified Gold with 3 platinum singles and over 15 million singles sold which includes collaborations with Katy Perry, Wiz Khalifa, Kid Cudi, Lil’ Jon and Ke$ha. Marian Hill’s releases including their debut album “Act One” have sold 12 million tracks making big waves with the breakthrough hit “Down” as well as successful albums from MisterWives and their gold single “Reflections,” Anthony Green, Handsome Ghost, and many others. Matt Galle and Mike Marquis are well known and respected leaders in the music industry having both been recognized in Billboard’s 40 under 40 and three years (2020, 2021, 2022) in a row on Billboard’s Indie Power Players list. The team is located in NYC and PFR is distributed through Virgin Music, Label and Artist Services.

Abington Grove Track Listing

  1. Hard Act To Follow (with GoldLink)
  2. Not Okay
  3. Don’t Worry
  4. We Used To
  5. Miss Missing You
  6. Sushi
  7. Last Night
  8. Kamikaze
  9. Freaking Out
  10. You’re Not Alone
  11. Last Thing On Your Mind
  12. Don’t Be So Hard On Yourself

Follow Billy Lockett:

Website Instagram | FacebookTwitter | TikTok