News

Black Artist Database offers free Ableton production masterclasses for burgeoning Black producers

The year-long masterclass series will provide a free, supportive and creative space for Black people to be taught by renowned producers from a variety of electronic music styles.

Black Artist Database (B.A.D) will host a series of online music production masterclasses (supported by Ableton), open to racially and ethnically Black people.

The classes will be interactive online sessions, with the first four taught by Loraine JamesRussell E. L. ButlerKMRU and rRoxymore via Zoom. Masterclass topics will include: how to turn your production into a live performance, field recording as a compositional tool and more. 

Each class has space allocated for 300 free attendees, and no prior music production experience is required to attend. They encourage all those from the Black global diaspora to register.

Ableton’s UK and Ireland Brand Manager, Shona MacMillan states that: ‘Ableton is honoured to support the Black Artist Database Masterclass series. Niks and the team have worked tirelessly to bring Black owned record labels, artists, producers and bands to the forefront of the electronic music community and beyond. We leapt at the opportunity to aid B.A.D to continue making a strong impact and focusing on diversity in the music industry.’ 

Each masterclass will run for 60 – 90 minutes, including a time allowance for questions from the audience.

Details for each production masterclass are here:

How to turn your production into a live performance with Loraine James – Tuesday 24th August @ 1pm (EST), 5pm (BST), 6pm (CEST), 7pm (EAT) 

Bus processing pre masters with Russell E. L. Butler – Tuesday 28th September @ 1pm (EST), 5pm (BST), 6pm (CEST), 7pm (EAT) 

Field recording as a compositional tool with KMRU – Tuesday 26th October @ 1pm (EST), 5pm (BST), 6pm (CEST), 7pm (EAT) 

An intro to live with rRoxymore – Tuesday 23rd November @ 12pm (EST), 5pm (GMT), 6pm (CEST), 8pm (EAT)