LMNL shares 80s New Wave inspired video for ‘Best Impression’

LMNL shares 80s New Wave inspired video for 'Best Impression ...

Taken from eponymous debut 5-track EP due this August

LMNL (Simon Batten) returns with an 80s new wave inspired visual for ‘Best Impression’, lifted from his debut eponymous EP released with Upcycled Sounds Records this August.

An homage to synth pop of the 1980s following the internal monologue of the eternally self-conscious. The song features a video from Australian director Siobhán Cox which similarly pays tribute to emerging video technologies of the time.

Simon details the track: “I liked the idea of doing a stomping pop song about insecurity, and I think it’s an insecurity that a lot of people feel, in the sense that they do what they feel a normal person would do in any given situation but never quite convince themselves.”

LMNL, a new project from Simon Batten, emerged from the Oxford, UK scene before moving to Florence, Italy. His prolific output of songs, projects and collaborations have been met with critical acclaim, including multiple top 20 placements in global dance charts and 8 in the Beatport Charts for ‘Roda’ with Glowal. He has opened for James Walsh, The Veils, Verdana and Thegiornalisti, and his music has been spun around the world by DJs including Solomun, Agoria, Brina Knauss, Adriatique and Tale of Clubs.

LMNL is now honing a bewitching solo sound drawing on diverse influences across electronica, krautrock, Americana and turntablist producers, alongside pop lyricism and bittersweet, deeply personal lyrics. LMNL’s debut eponymous EP continues in his intimate yet collaborative style. Poignant vocals and detailed synthscapes were home-recorded, before being arranged and produced by Nicholas O’Brien and Hannah Jacobs at Upcycled Sounds Studio in the UK. The EP features vocals from actor Cecilia Casini, who Simon had met and sung with during his English Language teaching at Teatro della Toscana. The record will be released on Upcycled Sounds Records this August.





Lyrics – Simon Batten

Music – Simon Batten

Lead vocals and synths – Simon Batten

Backing vocals – Cecilia Casini and Hannah Jacobs

Production and arrangement – Simon Batten and Upcycled Sounds

Mixing – Upcycled Sounds

Mastering – Felix Davis at Metropolis Studios