Model Man unveils breathtaking debut album Model Man

He will also perform at Corsica Studios on 4th November.

UK electronic talent Mark Brandon, better known as Model Man, has shared his hotly-anticipated eponymous debut album, out today via Mahogany Records

Stream Model Man Here  Watch ‘Clarity’ Live At Abbey Road

Placing piano at the beating heart of Brandon’s intoxicating compositions, the record explores his traditional Mormon upbringing and classical piano teachings of his mother, as they collide with his awe-inspiring discovery of rave culture and electronic music. Having left the church, Brandon now stands in his truth, embracing the multiple facets of masculinity that he was denied in his youth, and redefining what it means to be a ‘model man’ beyond the confines of his upbringing. 

A stunning, diverse collection of tracks, Model Man is a poignant LP steeped in emotion. The twelve-track release opens with ‘Emoclew’, a wistful piano-led creation, showcasing Brandon’s classical background which is where most of his track creations begin. Next up, ‘Don’t Cry’ is a similarly immersive track, punctuated by Hamzaa’s rich vocals with a message of hope at its heart, while the elegant breaks of July single ‘Sweet Surrender’ see Model Man find a majestic middle ground between rave-era hedonism and introverted ambient electronica. Both tracks have already been released as singles, drawing support from BBC Radio 1 tastemakers Pete TongAnnie MacSian Eleri and Jack Saunders amongst others. 

‘Esc (Holding Back)’ is the focus track of today’s album release, featuring the gospel-evoking vocals of Zimbabwe-born singer-songwriter Rationale, which displays a similar level of beauty, as does breakbeat piano ballad ‘Hurt’ featuring Arctic Lake’s whispered vocals. ‘Trappist-1’ is a more subdued affair, conjuring wistful ambience from tape hiss, sombre keys and delicate strings. ‘Wait Till Tonight’ and ‘Take Me There’ channel experimental electronic energy and restrained euphoria respectively, while ‘Distant Memory’ offers Model Man’s most anthemic moments. Closing things out are the mutated vocals and warped piano chords of ‘Sidewinder’, gospel-evoking 2019 single ‘Clarity’ which has accumulated over 5.5 million Spotify streams alone, before ending on meditative ambient creation ‘Impromptu No 1 (Apogee)’

At the core of Model Man is MarkBrandon, who has been making waves with some of dance music’s biggest players. Fusing ambient electronics with elements of bass culture, Brandon’s creative stance pits the physical against the cerebral, often with striking results. Since releasing music, he has garnered support from BBC Radio 1Clash MagazineDefected and underground favourite Alan Fitzpatrick amongst others. He has also been selected as part of Apple Music’s Up Next UK playlist.

Earlier this summer, he appeared at Lost Village for an incredible live show. Coming up, he has his headline show at London’s Corsica Studios on 4th November, which will see Brandon bring his productions to life with a band setup consisting of Tommy Galbally (bass & keys) and Andy Grant (drums) . A truly remarkable debut LP offering, Model Man is destined to put this burgeoning production talent firmly on the electronic music map and beyond. Model Man full tracklist

  1. Emoclew
  2. Don’t Cry – Feat Hamzaa
  3. Sweet Surrender
  4. Esc (Holding Back) – Feat Rationale
  5. Hurt – Feat Arctic Lake
  6. Trappist-1
  7. Wait Till Tonight
  8. Take Me There
  9. Distant Memory
  10. Sidewinder
  11. Clarity
  12. Impromptu No. 1 (Apogee)