Pop Punk Band Pkew Pkew Pkew Release Earnest New Single “The Night John Buck Hit Three Home Runs”

The pop-punk band of party-loving delinquents Pkew Pkew Pkew drop “The Night John Buck Hit Three Home Runs” today, two weeks out from the September 22nd release of their Siiick Days LP. Aptly titled, this was the same night that vocalist/bassist Mike Warne’s grandfather passed away. However, Warne assures, “This isn’t a sad song. Don’t be fooled. It’s about watching baseball with my best pals for as long as life will allow.” Having grown up watching the Toronto Blue Jays with his grandparents, he reflects on the family tradition and remarks on how sports are intertwined with life. Baseball catcher John Buck previewed the new single with his three sons, proclaiming that “This song is dope!” and adding that “It’s funny how the game of baseball creates special moments that are impactful in people’s life! I feel honoured to be the dude that was lucky enough to clip bombs and be a good vibe part of Mike‘s grandfather’s passing. What a gift to put music to memories and tell such a great story.”

Stream “The Night John Buck Hit Three Home Runs” on all DSPs.

Watch and share the official video on YOUTUBE.

Pre-order Siiick Days now.

Siiick Days concluding track, “The Night John Buck Hit Three Home Runs,” is released on the heels of opening track, and lead single, The Dumbest Thing I Ever Done about Warne having to sell his Playstation after a particularly rough 2020 European tour. “The rest of the songs, since nothing was happening in the world, came from a place where I was forced to remember important events rather than live and write about them in the moment.” The music video struck 75,000 views in its first week out.

The Hold Steadys Craig Finn (Lifter Puller) came on board as a lyrical consultant for Siiick Days, remarking enthusiastically that “A new Pkew record is always exciting for me. I love this band and the way they write about the dread and alienation of modern life, as well as the moments of elation that get us through.”

Siiick Days was recorded in the heart of the pandemic, over ten days in New Jersey’s Asbury Park by The Bouncing Souls Pete Steinkopf (The Menzingers, Dave Haus, The Love Ones, Crazy & The Brain). Steinkopf states, “It was an awesome experience making this record with these guys. Honest, great and clever people making honest, great and clever music. I was a fan the first time I heard them and am a fan for life after this experience. Can’t wait for everyone to hear it.”

The result is an incredibly thoughtful, cohesive, introspective and hilariously joyful record. 2022’s Open Bar (Dine Alone Records) was written prior to 2020 and its release was intended to provide solace, a time capsule of the pre-lockdown days. 2023’s Siiick Days is about getting back to work—only to call in sick and party instead. Most of these new songs were written in solitary moments walking to the grocery store, riding the subway or hanging out in the bathroom of Toronto bar The Farside. “I should also say, this is our best album,” Warne (vox/bass) adds. “We all love it more than anything. It was nothing but joy to work on. May all your days be siiick.”

With over 10 million Spotify streams, and a slew of critically acclaimed label released albums and EPs under the belt, the Toronto-based group have spent the better part of a decade relentlessly touring Canada, the US and Europe with bands like The Hold Steady, PUP, Reel Big Fish, The Flatliners and a bunch more. Their song “Mid 20s Skateboarder” was featured in the 2020 reboot of

Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 1 + 2. They appeared on Late Night With Seth Meyers and performed at Riot Fest.

Restructured following Ryan James McKinley’s (lead guitar/synth) departure, Kate MacLean (guitar/keys/vox) has officially joined. Fans may recognize her already from shows in which she filled in for David Michael Laino (drums/percussion). She is a serendipitous addition; both her and Emmett James O’Reilly (bass guitar) are music teachers, and while she has covered for him in that role over the last several years when he’s been away for tour, they hadn’t met until recently when they played together in a teacher band at a recital.


1. The Dumbest Thing I Ever Done
2. Farside Bathroom
3. Read Receipts
4. Hot Tub Or Bust
5. Trooper Cover Band
6. Johan
7. Learning To Share
8. Trespasser On The Tracks
9. Goodnights
10. The Night John Buck Hit Three Home Runs 

Catch Pkew Pkew Pkew on tour this fall at the below dates!


October 2 – St. Andrew’s Hall – Detroit, MI

October 3 – Metro – Chicago, IL

October 4 – First Avenue – Minneapolis, MN

October 6 – Ogden Theatre – Denver, CO

October 7 – The Grand at The Complex  – Salt Lake City, UT