Torgny opens up on emotionally brooding alt-pop track ‘Together’ ft Maria Due

Taken from new EP ‘Together’ due 11th June

Oslo-based musician / producer / visual artist Torgny is poised to announce a brand new release with the arrival of ‘Together’, lifted from the forthcoming 4-track EP due this summer. 

Drawing on a myriad of influences from pop, rock, electronica and indie, ‘Together’ explores the intricacies of human relationships through downtempo, minimalist production coupled with Maria Due’s husky, emotive vocal delivery.

Torgny explains: “Together tells the story of romantic love under pressure. That kind of strange, simmering pressure. Relationship goals, ambivalence, transformation, future angst, I guess all of that and more is in there. I’ve worked with Maria since my early releases and she perfectly encapsulates the feeling of the song. I love her voice and spirit. Using her voice as an instrument, I feel that I am her voice, just as much as I am my own voice. It can be hard to know what is solitude and what is loneliness. I suppose this EP deals with that too.”

No stranger to the scene, Torgny has been creating his own inimitable brand of alternative pop music since his debut release ‘Chameleon Days’ in 2010. The Oslo native returns in 2021 with a complex body of work in the form of his new EP ‘Together’. 

After the confrontational and conceptual autobiographical release Bathroom Stall Confessional (2019), Together EP focuses more on melody, heartache and the female voice. Over poignant bass lines and evocative synthesisers, long time collaborator Maria Due covers these tracks with her haunting vocal presence.

Torgny Amdam works across various media and genres and is known for dark electronics, punk rock aggression, vibrant lyricism and stunning music videos. He has a background in hardcore bands, and occasionally does music for theatre and film.

Torgny discography: 
Together EP (2021)
Bathroom Stall Confessional (2019)
Cut & Run (2017)
Oil Panic (2013)
Trilogy EP (2012)
Oslo, 31 august EP (2011)
Chameleon Days (2010)