Somewhere between electronic music, jazz and post-rock, TUKAN unveils a percussive sound with a heady groove, taking you on a computerless electronic journey. With an analogical approach, TUKAN takes up the codes of electronic music and delivers an exhilarating sound, taking Tortoise, Badbadnotgood, Floating Points, Squarepusher and Lone as reference points. On the 18th November, they are set to release their debut album ‘Atoll’ via Magma/NEWS.

Listen to album track ‘206’ here

Led by Nathan Van Brande and Andrea Pesare, their friendship began at the Jazz Studio in Antwerp where they started composing tracks for a rapper named SH. With ideas flowing they formed Boucan and Boukan 2.0 with Samuel Marie on keyboard, resulting in a highly memorable performance at Brussels Jazz Weekend but an unsuccessful period in the studio resulted in the early demise of the band. However, refreshed and rejuvenated, in 2019, the trio formed TUKAN with Tommaso Patrix on drums, with the new music based on improvisation and it ignited the beginning of a new era for the four musicians. In 2021, they won the prestigious Concours Circuit in Belgium and recorded their self-titled debut EP to critical acclaim in Belgium. Numerous shows and festival appearances followed including Fifty Lab, Dour and Nuits Bota and additional shows in Germany, Luxembourg, France and recently, the Ment Festival in Ljubljana.

TUKAN is: Andrea Pesare (Guitar), Nathan Van Brande (Bass), Samuel Marie (Keys) and Tommaso Patrix (Drums).


  1. ‘Scuba’
  2. ‘Raymond’
  3. ‘Opal’
  4. ‘206’
  5. ‘Beluga’
  6. ‘Lagoon’
  7. ‘Black Pearl’ ft. SVDU