Tune In to Watch The ASCAP Foundation Honors Celebrate Next Generation of Composers and Songwriters at December 15 Virtual Event

Foundation Silent Auction Now Accepting Bids on Memorabilia, Experiences from Olivia Rodrigo, Selena Gomez, Chris Stapleton, Kelsea Ballerini, Kevin Durant, Diane Keaton, Stephen Schwartz, Paul Williams and More.

NEW YORK, Dec. 14, 2022 – With inspired presentations and performances, the upcoming ASCAP Foundation Honors 2022 online event promises to delight audiences while recognizing this year’s talented award winners. On Thursday, December 15, acclaimed music creators and rising stars will share the virtual stage to celebrate The ASCAP Foundation’s 2022 award and scholarship recipients at 7:00 PM ET on The ASCAP Foundation YouTube channel.

In conjunction with the awards and holiday season, The ASCAP Foundation is hosting a silent auction to raise funds for its educational programs. ASCAP members who contributed auction items include Olivia Rodrigo, Selena Gomez, Chris Stapleton, Kelsea Ballerini, Ashanti, Stephen Schwartz and more. The auction is live through Friday, December 16, at

Highlights from The ASCAP Foundation Honors will include a special segment dedicated to the presentation of the George M. Cohan/Friars Foundation Award by Tony and Obie Award-winning, Emmy-nominated Broadway and television director Kenny Leon to Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright, screenwriter, musician and novelist Suzan Lori Parks. Parks was the first African-American woman to receive the Pulitzer Prize for drama, for her play Topdog/Underdog.

Additionally, Adam Guettel, the Tony Award-winning composer and grandson of Richard Rodgers, will present 2020 Pulitzer Prize and 2022 Tony Award-winning playwright and composer Michael R. Jackson with the Richard Rodgers New Horizons Award for musical theatre.

The broadcast will feature a variety of performances from award winners. Harold Adamson Lyric Award winner Jackie Marchal will perform her song “As Is.” Jamie deRoy & Friends Award recipients Robert Grusecki and Anya Turner will accept their award from composer and Foundation Board member Dan Foliart and perform their song “How Do I Look.”

2022 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award recipient Michael R. Dudley will perform his piece “Where Does the Trail Lead.” The inaugural ASCAP Foundation Tu Música Scholarship winners Ernesto Saldana and Mica M will accept their awards from Foundation Board member Betsy Pérez and her husband, songwriter/producer Rudy Pérez. Mica M will perform her song “Princesa.” 

ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams and his wife, author and educator Mariana Williams, will give the Mariana & Paul Williams “Sunlight of the Spirit” Award to the music non-profit organization Rock to Recovery and its founder Wesley Geer.

The program will also feature film/TV clips scored by emerging composers Sam Ewing and Min He, winners of the Henry Mancini Music Fellowship and David Rose Award, presented by Monica Mancini and Adam E. White, respectively. Robert Allen Award recipient Seb Isaac will close the program with a performance of his song, “Say It First.”

Individuals who would like to RSVP and/or purchase a donation-based ticket to the event to support the new generation of composers and songwriters can visit

A complete list of 2022 ASCAP Foundation Scholarship and Award recipients can be found here

About The ASCAP Foundation

Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education, talent development and humanitarian programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States. www.ascap