1tbsp – It’s Very Loud (EP)

1tbsp is a project by Australian Grammy Award Nominated artist Maxwell Byrne (aka Golden Vessel) which has a sound that can be likened to a mix between Daphni, Four Tet and DJ Koze.

Over the last few weeks Maxwell has given us three exceptional new 1tbsp singles – “Pioneer Digital Plastic Sound”, “No Nein (feat. Mietze Conte)” and “Four Tet Is My Godmother” – which also came with news of a whole new ep coming our way very soon.

That ep is titled “It’s Very Loud” and it is being released this week via his own label Sumoclic. The ep features the above mentioned recent singles alongside one other previously unheard gem and title-track, ‘It’s Very Loud’, which was co-written with his friend Squidgenini who also featured on his 2022 single ‘Seasons’.

“I built this around a bass line that Squidgenini played the first time we met up to write. I scraped everything else we made and cut in some samples from tracklib. This is sort of the b-side on the EP, and I tried to make it a bit of a slower burn / dubby. The main vocal in the track is this trashy pop vocal but the way I cut it created new lyrics which weren’t there originally resulting in the repeating “It’s Very Loud”.” ~ 1tbsp

Maxwell also gives us some insight into the ep which he says was really all about self-expression and making music that excites him.

“My new ep “It’s Very Loud” is all about self-expression and making music that excites me enough that I want to share it and use it in my DJ sets. It’s a pretty simple concept but sometimes other things get in the way, and I wanted to make this louder than previous things I’ve made.” ~ 1tbsp

Maxwell is also very excited to announce that he has teamed up with Alba Martin from Earth Agency for bookings & tours across the UK & Europe.

He will be spending some time in Europe throughout June/August, so keep your eyes peeled for some event info coming your way soon!

“It’s Very Loud” is available everywhere now via sumoclic.




Songwriting & Production by Maxwell Byrne

Songs co-written by Nick Ward, Squidgenini, Mietze Conte

Mixing by Doug Wright

Mastering by Ryan Schwabe

Press Photos by Lili Cotter

Artwork by Paula Grenouille