Music News

Aime Simone announces debut album ‘Say Yes, Say No’


Aime Simone has announced the release of his debut album Say Yes, Say No out on July 31st and available to pre-order here. The album is a bright and soulful record from the Berlin-based, Parisian singer and is entirely self-written, produced and mixed.

Say Yes, Say No is an open journal and a journey that weaves from reflective nostalgia of melancholic lows, to a breath of new energy and hopeful sentimentality.



  1. Everything’s Changing
  2. In This Dark Time
  3. Don’t Be Sad
  4. Strange Island
  5. Imaginary Lovers
  6. Vienna
  7. Hold Me Alive
  8. What’s Up With The World?
  9. Shining Light
  10. Humankind

This is reflected in the transition from the airy electronic acoustic-laced opener ‘Everything’s Changing’ to the delectate trap-infused pop of ‘Humankind’, which highlights Aime’s restored faith in himself and the world around him.

Regarding the album Aime says, “The album is a celebration of my acceptance of imperfection, it’s for those who have felt brought down, as I did, by negative self-esteem and expectations of society.”

Say Yes, Say No is a sensitive and unique take on pop music and finds Aime inspired by his varied influences; from post punk and indie rock, to hip hop and trap, as well as soul and 60s pop.

The album prompts a response from all emotions. It’s a record to dance to, as found in the vivid alt-pop of lead single ‘What’s Up With The World?’, while it’s also a record to cry to. The latter provoked by deeply honest and moving moments such as the haunting ‘Don’t Be Sad’, or latest single ‘In This Dark Time’, recently recorded in reaction to the effects of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Say Yes, Say No carries an inspiring theme throughout, revealing a supportive message of comfort to those who have ever felt alienated or isolated.

This is demonstrated directly in the title itself. Say Yes, Say No reflects a life of self-doubt, heavily influenced by icons, while also dispirited by the opinions of others. Ultimately Say Yes, Say No flourishes to celebrate a new found self-confidence.

Aime Simone’s character is both unusual and complex, dictated by a life that has experienced great highs, the deepest lows, and huge challenges.

Say Yes, Say No plays as an open diary, deeply honest and therapeutic, both sonically and lyrically. Inspired by life changing moments and a fresh outlook on the world, the album is captivating and thought provoking. Say Yes, Say No is an intimate introduction to the fascinating being of Aime Simone.

Aime Simone was born and raised in Paris. During childhood he fell victim to intense bullying, this mental trauma from this developed in his early teenage years and he began to experience symptoms of PTSD.

These PTSD symptoms developed into anorexia and related physical injuries and operations. This led to multiple stays at clinics in an attempt to heal, yet his inner demons ultimately led to a tragic suicide attempt.

During his clinic stays Aime spent the duration of his healing writing poetry in a journal. As a music lover and songwriter, during a stay at the clinic in 2012, Aime got permission to attend a Pete Doherty show at Paris’ Bus Palladium, of who he was a big fan.

He took the journal along to the show with the intention of giving it to Pete. Aime had no idea how he was going to get the journal to Pete and so mid-set took to throwing it onstage, accidentally hitting Pete on the face. Pete in turn began reading excerpts to the sold out crowd. Aime screams for Pete’s guitar in a vein hope of some exchange, but was instead pulled onstage and given the guitar to play.

This was Aime’s first ever performance in front of a crowd, and one that thankfully ended in applause – something quite extraordinary for a stranger onstage at a Pete Doherty show. Aime was instructed to stay and invited backstage after, what ensued was a year of intense songwriting sessions at the Libertines frontman’s apartment.

From this bizarre first encounter blossomed a very precious friendship, which saw Pete help Aime out of his darkest time while also mentoring Aime in his artistic development and eventually to him opening for Pete at his shows.

It also opened doors to the fashion world, where he had a successful career modelling. It led him to travel the world for three years, featuring highlights including Hedi Slimane’s 2013 Saint Laurent campaign, which included Aime opening the catwalk in Paris.

In 2017 Aime moved to Berlin and immediately fell in love with the hedonistic city. He was once again surrounded by likeminded people and became heavily inspired by the iconic techno scene.

His music evolved as he expanded his skills with electronic elements, experimenting with 909 and 808 drum machines, to the point where he was again performing live and throwing his own events. It led to Aime being awarded the revered artist residency at the Night Embassy last year, and he recently paired his music and fashion skills again to create an artistic video campaign for WEEKDAY.

In 2020 Aime Simone presents his considered musical direction, inspired by his worldly travels and looking towards the future. With his debut album Say Yes, Say No he marks the beginning of an important new journey.

“Aime Simone’s uplifting melancholic pop finds hope in apocalyptic times”
Daily Star

“Aime Simone offers tenderness… A songwriter of rare depth, the emotional undercurrents from his work are innately tied to the world around him.”