Music News

Celebrated Alt-Dance Collaborators Marcus James & RYYZN share ‘Warning Sign’ EP

Celebrated Alt-Dance Collaborators Marcus James & RYYZN Announce Long-Awaited  Emo-House EP Warning Sign – Volatile Weekly
Image Credit: Matthew Butcher 

Acclaimed producer Marcus James has teamed up with esteemed duo RYYZN to create their first collaborative EP, Warning Sign which was released on the 29th of January via Physical Presents. Their previous two singles, both taken from the upcoming EP, have seen the team supported by tastemaker Youtube channels Sensual Musique and Cloudx Music as well as features on major Spotify playlists such as Cardio, Tropical House, New Music Friday and Mint Canada

Celebrated Alt-Dance Collaborators Marcus James & RYYZN Announce Long-Awaited  Emo-House EP Warning Sign – Volatile Weekly
Warning Sign EP Tracklist:
1. Warning Sign
2. Night Light
3. Don’t Let Me Say These Words
4. Take Care

Stream/Download Marcus James & RYYZN Warning Sign EP

Born and based in Vancouver, Marcus James is well-known for his collaborative works, having worked with the likes of multi-platinum selling artist Trevor Guthrie, remixed Dylan Matthew’s ‘Saturday Night’ as well as Warped Tour bands Anarbor and Courage My Love. The producer has also shared stages with the likes of Robin Schulz, 3LAU, Lost Frequencies, Zeds Dead and many more. The rising star has received support from the likes of Your EDM,, EARMILK, MrRevillz, and Tropical House Records and Vancouver Sun all of which has contributed to his noteworthy play count of over 6 million streams across platforms. 

RYYZN is a Vancouver-based duo comprised of David York and Jessie Elias who come from Calgary and Saskatoon respectively. The pair have received significant attention on streaming platforms with features on the tastemaker Youtube channels Audio Library, Mr Revillz, AirwaveMusicTV, and ChillTracks as well as appearing on the Spotify playlists for New Music Friday: Canada, Indie pop & chill and Fresh Finds. As a result, RYYZN currently sit at an impressive play count of well over 10 million.

Marcus James takes inspiration from all types of music, turning to the likes of diverse musician Travis Barker of Blink182, as well as the Snow Patrol’s finely crafted lyrics. However, ‘Warning Sign’ sits in closer comparison to the likes of Sam Feldt, Lost Frequencies and Robin Schulz.

An elaborate ode to heartbreak, Warning Sign takes listeners through the toughest stages of a breakup, with lush bass lines and smooth vocals to guide the way. Traveling between those final moments in the relationship, the post break up regret and the soaring freedoms felt when moving on with Marcus James and RYYZN as they take all stereotypes of the “breakup” song and quickly dispel them. Vibrant chords and shimmering tones provide contrast to the sombre subject as listeners are given a tool to deal with their grief while not allowing it to overwhelm them. 

RYYZN take a look back on the creation of the EP: “It’s crazy to finally get to release this EP. The amount of time spent writing and rewriting all these songs with Marcus James feels like a lifetime, and in that time we’ve developed a great working friendship. We are beyond excited to get to release the biggest project we’ve had the pleasure of working on.”

Marcus James tells us about the start of the project: “It’s funny how it came together, the whole EP sorta started by accident. It felt like we came together to form an alt/dance/pop band for a little chapter of our lives. I think every artist has a hard time knowing when to walk away from a piece of work and call it finished. With this EP though, I can look back and honestly say I wouldn’t change a thing. That’s no claim to perfection either, each song just works with the others the way it’s meant to. Listen close, and you’ll hear a story of someone trying to hold on to something that feels like it’s slipping through their fingers.” 

Follow Marcus James:

FacebookTwitter Soundcloud Youtube InstagramSpotify

Follow RYYZN: