Creative Synthwave Producer Michael Oakley shares ‘Babylon’.

Glasgow-born, Toronto-based synthwave producer Michael Oakley has recently shared the sacred song ‘Babylon’, lifted from his latest album Odyssey which was released on the 14th of May via NewRetroWave Records. Featured on the album, listeners will find well-known artists Ollie Wride and Dana Jean Phoenix. Odyssey has already reached #8 in the Worldwide Album Charts on Bandcamp while peaking at #4 on the Electronic Album Chart, contributing to Michael Oakley’s impressive play count of just under 8 million across platforms. The producer has been supported by numerous publications including Huffington Post, Daily Express, Side-Line, Analogue Trash, Electricity Club and Vehlinggo. Michael Oakley has earned significant support from NewRetroWave with features on their Youtube channel with his music appearing in numerous games, including Wave Break: High Tide and Retro Drive

LISTEN: Michael Oakley – ‘Babylon’

Stream / Download Odyssey LP

Michael Oakley was born in Glasgow, Scotland but moved to Los Angeles for a few years before settling in Toronto, Canada. He considers himself a predominantly self-taught musician, with the exception of taking keyboard lessons as a child as a result of encouragement from his father. The producer calls upon the classics for inspiration, citing the likes of George Michael, Sting, Pet Shop Boys, Depeche Mode and Pink Floyd. However, his own sound calls to mind the modern works of artists such as The Midnight, FM84, Toto and Duran Duran.

There are few cities as soaked with history as the beautiful ‘Babylon’, which has provided great inspiration for many artists around the world. Michael Oakley whisks us away on an Odyssey, as we travel through the sacred skies of ‘Babylon’ illuminated by the warm synth tones of the producer and into the welcoming arms of an adventure-loving partner. 

Odyssey LP Tracklisting

1. Odyssey

2. Wake Up! (feat. Ollie Wride)

3. Is There Anybody Out There (Jon Campbell Radio Edit)

4. Babylon

5. Glasgow Song (Dana Jean Phoenix)

6. Real Life 

7. Queen of Hearts

8. When Stars Collide

Follow Michael Oakley: