Max Dahlhaus blends rhythms with noises on his new EP for ‘Hyperboloid’

You can be a glitch if you want to be. Actually, you can be whatever you desire. This is the main idea behind Max Dahlhaus’ new EP Be A Glitch which, in his own words, is inspired by Sartre’s Existentialism Is a Humanism. The work reveals a connection to three key concepts in the French philosopher’s landmark essay: anguish, abandonment and despair.

These words could easily form a slogan for our times, and the moods they signify are all apparent throughout the four tracks on Be a Glitch. Dahlhaus crafts extraordinary sounds out of these gloomy feelings, blending straightforward rhythms with noises, glitches and overlapping melodies. Echoes of club music reverberate here too, but this is a work that offers something more complex and reflective than four-to-the-floor repetition.

Though Be A Glitch is an entire, cohesive work, it includes remixes from two of Dahlhaus’ favourite musicians, both of whom remodel his Artificial Prodigy into something completely different. London / Berlin-based Aquarian goes into breakbeat and drill-and-bass territory in his remix, while Berlin’s Born In Flamez takes the original and turns it into a post-pop groove. The result is as radical as Dahlhaus’ approach to working with sound.

artist Max Dahlhaus
title Be A Glitch
label Hyperboloid
date September 17
format Cassette | Digital
cat. # HYPR092


1. Be A Glitch
2. Artificial Prodigy
3. Artificial Prodigy (Aquarian Remix)
4. Artificial Prodigy (Born In Flamez Remix)
5. sO.mA
6. Be A Glitch (Exposed Version)