Prequel Tapes‘ album ‘The Golden Cage’ on Veyl is an intimate work of unconventional electronics

Veyl is pleased to welcome Marco Freivogel’s Prequel Tapes for an immense 8 song release, The Golden Cage. Completing an album cycle of themes and exploration which began with 2015’s Inner SystemsThe Golden Cage is perhaps Prequel Tapes’ most diverse and expansive work – utilising the artist’s own vocals for the first time and evolving his production and sound to new, uncharted dimensions.

Working off the trauma of his father’s suicide, The Golden Cage was spawned from a hyper-realistic dream experience that revealed the artist’s path, catalysing new productions and techniques. The result is a striking work of unconventional electronics that journeys through rhythms, atmospheres and experimentations. A true narrative of a continuously challenging personal journey

Beginning with the tension-building, free flow of ‘My Turn’, we then delve into grief and anger with ‘I Hate You’, which transforms into the pulsating tempos of ‘Stranger or Lover’. The glistening nostalgia of ‘Last Things’ marks the halfway point before grappling with the heavy introversion of ‘Alone’ and devious energy of ‘Mind Corner’. Nearing the end of our trip, ‘Without Remission’ uncovers the most dance floor tuned piece while finally the title track closes things out with an energy that will linger long after you’ve listened.

Artist: Prequel Tapes
Release: The Golden Cage
Label: Veyl
Format: Vinyl (Crystal clear), Digital
Date: 24th June
Pre-order here


1. My Turn
2. I Hate You
3. Stranger or Lover
4. Last Things
5. Alone
6. Mind Corner
7. Without Remission
8. The Golden Cage