Rico Puestel makes a strong statement on his fantastic new album #technohasleftthebuilding, which he also says will be his last after a celebrated career.

The title and the album are a reaction to what Puestel sees as the collapse of the techno world as he knows it. He feels its spirit and cultural impact has been watered down to the point of meaninglessness, at least for him, and says “There is nothing left to tell.”

The German producer, live-act, DJ and label owner has released plenty of seminal tracks on the underground’s most influential outlets and adds that “the self-consuming scene has reached its grotesque climax and left an empty shell of something once filled with so much passion, warmth, strength, heart and hope. The times just haven’t changed – they lost their self-fulfilling purpose and authenticity.”

For one final time now, Rico has gathered all his experiences & emotions together and poured them all into this heartfelt love letter to the ashes of the genre he once loved. The whole thing was crafted in one 12-hour session in which he relived his most deeply rooted techno moments. As the track titles count down to zero in Esperanto, Rico finds his own inner peace and balance before finally bowing out.

The album kicks off with unrelenting dark techno funk and never lets up from there. It is rooted in classic sounds that layer up raw synths and rusty metal surfaces with potent drum programming. Every single one is carefully arranged and ever-evolving to keep dance floors on the move as Puestel brings in subtle peaks and troughs of emotion through his synth work. Some are dark and heads down like ‘du’, others like ‘kvin’ are more bright and light with uplifting melodies. ‘nulo’ twists synths into contorted, brain-frying forms and ‘sep’ will zone out any dance floor with its more sleek and minimal styles. All in all, this is a superb snapshot of the innovative and artful techno that Puestel has always dealt in.

If this is to be a final farewell, #technohasleftthebuilding is a remarkable way to go out.

Release Date: 01-12-2023


01 dek
02 naŭ
03 ok
04 sep
05 ses
06 kvin
07 kvar
08 tri
09 du
10 unu
11 nulo

Facebook – X (Twitter) – Soundcloud – Spotify

Leave a Reply