Rosie Carney shares third single/video “tidal wave” from sophomore album

i wanna feel happy out May 27th via Color Study.

Today, Rosie Carney releases a third single and video from her upcoming second album. “tidal wave” follows “break the ground” and “dad” with sophomore LP i wanna feel happy out on the 27th of May on Color Study.

In Carney’s words, “tidal wave” is a song about “abandonment issues. It’s about the lonely ache you feel when you realise you’re starting to drift away from someone, but there’s nothing you can do to stop it from happening,”

“I remember being a kid and desperately overanalysing and trying to change who I was in an attempt to cling on to whoever I was drifting away from. The song is both a desperate plea and also an acute awareness of needing to let go and move on.”

“tidal wave” was written by Carney and produced by JMAC (Luz, Matilda Man, Haux) with acclaimed producer and pianist Thomas Bartlett (Florence & The Machine, Taylor Swift) lending piano to the track; “I really loved working on this song in the studio, I wanted to create an underwater/otherworldly ambience on this track and used different effects pedals like the Strymon Mobius and TimeLine to so.”
“tidal wave” is accompanied by a video created by Bee Happy Media which fluctuates between suffocating real-life imagery and a hope filled, dreamlike animation. Like so much of Carney’s art, it finds strength and light out of the darkness.

Around her 2019 debut album Bare, NPR described Carney as capturing “the weary grace of a survivor who’s located the source of her strength”. How the Anglo Irish singer-songwriter learned to embrace herself is a story from another era. Born from the anxiety of pandemic-amplified social media pressures, i wanna feel happy explores Carney’s personal mental health struggles against the backdrop of navigating a musical career in 2022 but also serves as a testament of her resilience and character.

In many ways, she is a next-gen torch bearer of the album oriented indie and folk-rock heights of the late 2000’s. She has collaborated with Lisa Hannigan and Bartlett and as a fan of The National was ecstatic to be invited to the latest Sounds From A Safe Harbour Festival, curated by Bryce and Aaron Dessner. Having grown up covering Taylor Swift in nearby Irish pubs, Swift’s 2020 Aaron Dessner-produced Folklore became a huge inspiration for the album.

At the start of the first lockdown, Carney took to covering the entirety of Radiohead’s seminal album The Bends as almost a therapeutic project. It ended up winning critical acclaim across UK and US media including The Guardian, Uncut, Stereogum, NME, The Forty Five, The Line of Best Fit, SPIN and more. She attributes her expanded production palette to approaching The Bends and whilst making demos for i wanna feel happy Carney was listening to a lot of Big Thief, FKA Twigs, Foglake, Slow Dive, David Bowie to name a few. The result is a masterclass in combining intimacy with equally warm, but more complex textures.

i wanna feel happy was produced by JMAC (Luz, Matilda Man, Haux) at London’s RAK Studios

Rosie Carney’s second LP i wanna feel happy comes out May 27th via Color Study, new single “tidal wave” is out now.

  1. i hate sundays
  2. break the ground
  3. dad
  4. chihiro
  5. ceiling
  6. tidal wave
  7. sugar
  8. time waits for no waiting room
  9. send me home
  10. i wanna feel happy
  11. blame it on the sun

Connect with Rosie Carney