Synthwave Extraordinaire Michael Oakley shares ‘Is There Anybody Out There’

UK-born synthwave producer Michael Oakley has recently released his latest album Odyssey on the 14th of May via NewRetroWave Records. Featured on the album, listeners will find the exemplary song, ‘Is There Anybody Out There’ edited by Jon Campbell, as well as well-known featured artists Ollie Wride and Dana Jean Phoenix. Odyssey has already reached #8 in the Worldwide Album Charts on Bandcamp while peaking at #4 on the Electronic Album Chart, contributing to Michael Oakley’s impressive play count of just under 8 million across platforms. The producer has earned significant support from NewRetroWave with features on their Youtube channel as well as their official webzine. Michael Oakley’s music has appeared in numerous games, including Wave Break: High Tide and Retro Drive.

Stream / Download Odyssey LP

Michael Oakley was born in Glasgow, Scotland but moved to Los Angeles for a few years before settling in Toronto, Canada. He considers himself a predominantly self-taught musician, with the exception of taking keyboard lessons as a child as a result of encouragement from his father. The producer calls upon the classics for inspiration, citing the likes of George Michael, Sting, Pet Shop Boys, Depeche Mode and Pink Floyd. However, his own sound calls to mind the modern works of artists such as The Midnight, FM84, Toto and Duran Duran.

There are few artists who manage to strike a balance between the shimmering calm of the water’s edge and the deep inner call of adventure within the pounding heart. And yet here we stand, awash with synths and gentle bathing in retro tones while a tangible hint of hope lingers in the air as we embark on an Odyssey with Michael Oakley. ‘Is There Anybody Out There’ draws us into the world of retro, neon lights and an undying passion for dance.

Odyssey LP Tracklisting

1. Odyssey

2. Wake Up! (feat. Ollie Wride)

3. Is There Anybody Out There (Jon Campbell Radio Edit)

4. Babylon

5. Glasgow Song (Dana Jean Phoenix)

6. Real Life 

7. Queen of Hearts

8. When Stars Collide

Follow Michael Oakley: