Trees Speak ‘Mind Maze’

Photo Credit: Eric Adrian Lee

Trees Speak is an experimental rock band that transcends mainstream influences by incorporating elements of Avant-garde, Neo-psychedelic and Minimalism. On Soul Jazz Records.

Mind Maze, is the fifth studio album from Trees Speak, released on Solo Jazz Records.

This new offering is a 19-track mind-boggling tightrope walk across an array of musical influences that seamlessly create the unique present-day world of Trees Speak.

The band’s sound is characterized by a combination of German krautrock motorik-beat rhythms, angular New York post-punk attitude, 60s spy soundtracks, psych, rock, jazz, and 70s synthesizers, and vocoders. There is also a cosmic spatial awareness to their sound; both personal inner space and galactic outer space,  as well as a wilful pushing of sonic boundaries.

Trees Speak are a musical duo based in Tucson, Arizona, composed of Daniel Martin Diaz and Damian Diaz. Their music is heavily influenced by the cosmic magic of the natural desert landscapes of Arizona, creating a unique and captivating sound that is both experimental and innovative. ‘Mind Maze’ was recorded in  Brooklyn, New York with special guests Gabriel Sullivan, Alex Pope, Craig Dreyer, Ben Nisbet and Stephani  Guilmette.

Here you will find the myriad sounds of 1970s German electronic music (everything from Can to Cluster, Popul Vuh to Tangerine Dream); 1980s New York post-punk and synthcore (from No Wave to Suicide); John Barry’s 1960s movies, John Carpenter’s 1970s horror. You will also hear the influences of French and Italian progressive rock (Magma, Goblin) as well as cosmic, new age and experimental space soundscapes… an almost endless list of diverse influences that ebb and flow like an ocean of sound, in the process  creating a truly unique soundscape that Trees Speak have made wholly their own

The name Trees Speak reflects their interest in the concept of using future technologies to store information  and data in trees and plants, with the idea that trees communicate collectively. This interest in nature and  technology, combined with their passion for experimentation, has led Trees Speak to create a truly one-of- a-kind listening experience that is both unique and engaging.

Trees Speak are a band that defies categorization and offer an eclectic listening experience, both exciting and memorable.


Track List:

  1. Mind Maze
  2. Minotaur
  3. Syndrome
  4. Sospetto
  5. Illusions
  6. Scanner
  7. Burner
  8. Rare Earth
  9. Pathways
  10. Skip Breath
  11. Odyssey
  12. Passage
  13. Signals
  14. Black Phone
  15. Mirror
  16. Stone Tape
  17. Seraphim 
  18. Orpheus 
  19. Machines Speak