‘Dance Artist Of The Year’ Category Added To iHeart Radio Music Awards

‘Dance Artist Of The Year’ Category Added To iHeart Radio Music Awards

As dance music continues to permeate the outside music realms, another award show has begun to officially recognize the genre in their yearly roundups. Just in time for the iHeart Radio Music Awards on April 3rd, the organization has added a completely new category just for us. Dance Artist of the Year will finally make its debut alongside the already existing Dance Track of the Year listing, helping to further cement the movement in the minds of the American viewers.

Nominated in the new category this year will be Calvin Harris, David Guetta, Major Lazer, Skrillex & Diplo and Zedd. Coming as some of the world’s most popular and requested producers of the era, it’s no surprise to see any of their names occupying the show’s first nod toward EDM.

The Dance Songs of the Year are in the same boat, with hits like “Lean On,” “You Know You Like It,” and “Waves” receiving the nominations. In the Best Collaboration category, one voted socially by viewers, Jack Ü and Justin Bieber’s “Where Are Ü Now?” will be matched up against tracks from Taylor Swift and Kendrick Lamar, Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars, and others.

Tune in to TBS, TNT or TruTV on April 3rd to catch the show!

Dance Artist of the Year (New Category)
Calvin Harris
David Guetta
Major Lazer
Skrillex & Diplo

Dance Song of the Year
David Guetta featuring Nicki Minaj, Bebe Rexha & Afrojack — “Hey Mama”
Major Lazer & DJ Snake featuring MØ — “Lean On”
Mr. Probz — “Waves”
Skrillex & Diplo with Justin Bieber — “Where Are Ü Now?”
DJ Snake & AlunaGeorge — “You Know You Like It”

Best Collaboration *Socially Voted Category
Taylor Swift featuring Kendrick Lamar — “Bad Blood”
Meghan Trainor featuring John Legend — “Like I’m Gonna Lose You”
Wiz Khalifa featuring Charlie Puth — “See You Again”
Mark Ronson featuring Bruno Mars — “Uptown Funk”
Skrillex & Diplo with Justin Bieber — “Where Are Ü Now?”